Carry On!

Last week I met with my tutee twice. We did decide to put The Fault in our Stars down and she excitedly took up the book, If I Stay.   I had the feeling that teaching Kim reading strategies were a perfect example of the saying ‘putting the cart before the horse’ and we simply sat and read the book together.  I also decided not to offer reading aloud to Kim, as I’d like her to hear the natural rhythm and flow of the author’s words. In Kim’s class they do cold, reading aloud every day and I’m thinking for our time together we will use a different approach.  I am surprised to find that Kim likes reading aloud over reading to herself.  I’m wondering if that is simply what she is used to doing.

While reading aloud to Kim, natural pauses came up when Kim wanted to respond to the text, which I was thankful for!  I think my next step will be to invite one or two other students (friends of Kim) into the group and arrange a small literacy circle.  That way these conversations around the themes in the book can hold more meaning and more viewpoints.  If all goes well, maybe the three of them can have a night and watch the movie together in celebration of finishing the book.  I am focused more on enjoying the read than literay skills at this point, which for me just feels lazy as I’m teaching!  However, I’m really hoping Kim stays with this book and we can have success in the form of simply loving what we are reading and enjoying the act of reading.  We’ll see if she has read any on her own when I meet with her Tuesday.   Fingers crossed! 

2 thoughts on “Carry On!

  1. Yes, for some students reading aloud is what they know. It has its place though in the long run, students will pick up reading speed only when reading silently.

    The first goal is student engagement. When the iron is sufficiently hot, you can strike with calling attention to vocabulary and word identification skills. Walk gently here, always keeping engagement in the forefront. The more the student is engaged, the more willing they will be to put up with specific teaching opportunities.

    Yes, working in a small group can facilitate discussion and heighten involvement.

    Like

Share!

